Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Money from alleged 'sinister' romance fraud used to buy Cork property

www.irishmirror.ieEnglishObserved 2025-12-19
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

CAB alleges Thomas Humphreys’ Youghal house was bought for EUR25,000 with crime proceeds in July 2015. That property price is not a romance-victim loss, and no completed laundering or recovery is stated. Retain the explicitly historical purchase date and allegation. The operation location concerns alleged property/proceeds activity, not an independently established original romance-scam operating base.

Dates in the available evidence

  • 2015-07 · incident · month alleged_property_purchase

Places in the available evidence

Scam operation: Ireland

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

No positive thematic assignment was supported by the available text.

All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harminsufficient context
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesnot reported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemeinsufficient context

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Reported follow-up

Gang member used money conned out of woman in 'sinister’ romance fraud to buy house in Cork

The named CAB allegation about Thomas Humphreys’ Strand Street/Youghal property and July2015 purchase is followed in preserved reporting by a civil finding on the balance of probabilities concerning the same named property/purchase. Keep €25,000 versus €26,620 as an attributed discrepancy. Exact hearing/judgment dates are absent; observation periods are not incident dates and this is not a criminal conviction.

This record is linked to a later reported development.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 70fe5bba489bfc24c4b61c94792f53bf33724569255be6ccbc59d067aff43cb9
Decision: d03da4e4f0f548d4c17ca796708e2eb2d48492dc2a76093459bd7db85bc2d08e
Current revision: 1d97718d02d09947128fffe3272ccc81c74425619b6e7d19cc6da5e1311601d0

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.