Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

$560,000 romance scam: Two US-based Nigerians face 40-year jail term

tribuneonlineng.comEnglishObserved 2025-01-08
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Namedmen560kfuturecombined40yr legalmaximum possible, notenteredconvictionorimposedsentence fromowncaption. Current external qualification: Current source own potential/disputed sentencing wording stays qualified, not an imposed/served40-year term. Separately identified DOJ primary release reports the matched jury verdict and pending unscheduled sentence with statutory maximum each. No official body facts copied into publisher raw metadata or own thematic conviction for sources that do not report it. One reported proceeding/multiple defendants is not multiple independent cases. Primary source is attributed, not original court judgment/independent guilt audit; no paid recovery, operator geography or observation-derived chronology.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Source readings and additional context

Researcher summaries preserve attributed findings and reading limits. Additional sources appear separately from the included collection.

Separate source context

Source text reviewed

DOJ January6,2025 identifies Ogunlaja39/Daramola37, four-day jury guilty verdict, false GlennBrown/eHarmony romantic construction pretext, Albuquerque target560000 transfers January2016–April2017. Court release pending unscheduled sentencing; each faces a twenty-year statutory maximum. This contradicts current news-imposed-sentence wording. Account provision/transfer roles and Daramola denial remain attributed; overseas account destinations not operator locations. Original judgment itself not obtained, no later sentence established.

Open this source (opens a new tab)

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

sentenceunclearStage: unclear

Own collected sentencing-related wording is qualified by separately attributed primary context; original raw excerpt preserved.

Potential or disputed term in one reported proceeding; not imposed or served sentence, multiple defendants not independent cases

Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmnot reported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 72eb0999873792e00e1e563603e3e235b827bcb696791afa92ef4d8f4ea539f4
Decision: 571bf7e448278ab0ef2ab67e4210226a11b65e10f1baf0f0c6c7d1bd5970d6a9
Current revision: cb4c2d25d3103bb4c21f4f1195b18f6c04d103e0beab3ac5de45e33be1ad23a1

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.