Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Ex-Scottish Tory council leader denies £185,500 romance fraud

www.heraldscotland.comEnglishObserved 2025-02-07
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

AndrewPolson named/unnamed185500/188000 romance allegations and not-guilty plea. Party suspension distinct from sentence; no forced amount correction or118k direct same-proceeding timeline. Same-agent source-field check: Scottish former-council label alone does not locate court jurisdiction.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

pleareported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harminsufficient context
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Former Scots Tory council leader convicted of £188,000 fraud

NamedAndrewPolson and specific Scottishcouncil188000/185500 allegation/notguilty context support existing named-person family. Denied financial allegation remains attributed. Prior118000/later186000/mixedcharity scopes do not prove direct same-proceeding transition; unavailable original means timeline withheld.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 90a0cbc38656e4df6bb2c5546060a6846a9725dc4fe2559c6bbfd8c7a015a45f
Decision: 04f85afe255fd42a6d40beecb84aeb869b179a0193769fbd44bddec81ac52d34
Current revision: 93fa1b7842f575e6ddbca891d7383aae9cf21a089b3512e2315067d4919fca6d

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.