Justice proceedings and outcomes
Interpretation details
- Scope
- multiple cases
- Person or institution described
- authority
- Link to romance fraud
- explicit
- Causal claim
- not established
Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC
← Back to your resultsReported case
Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.
Georgia perpetrator sentencing for multi-state elderly romance scams. Spanish five-year headline versus UPI two-year source is retained unresolved rather than combined into one imposed sentence; source-specific identity/official record needed. Restitution obligation not funds actually paid to victims. Actual selectedSpanishbody/DOJ identifiesObafemi and distinguishes24months prison plus3years supervised release; current named-context/restitution/plea revisions required before export. No allthesepublisherbodies claimedread.
Investigation or court: United States
Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.
These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.
| Theme | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Blame, stigma and responsibility framing | not reported in available text |
| Homicide and lethal violence | not reported in available text |
| Disruption of daily life | not reported in available text |
| Financial and property harm | not reported in available text |
| Suicide and self-harm | not reported in available text |
| Family and social harm | not reported in available text |
| Protection or recovery of assets | insufficient context |
| Policy and regulatory response | not reported in available text |
| Justice proceedings and outcomes | reported in available text |
| Coercion and exploitation | not reported in available text |
| Psychological distress | insufficient context |
| Blackmail and extortion | not reported in available text |
| Help, reporting and prevention | not reported in available text |
| Physical or sexual harm | not reported in available text |
| Investment pretext | not reported in available text |
| Technical facilitation | not reported in available text |
| Investigation and operational response | not reported in available text |
| Organization and division of labor | not reported in available text |
| Relationship-based deception | not reported in available text |
| Involvement in other offending | not reported in available text |
| Continued or renewed targeting | not reported in available text |
| Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerability | not reported in available text |
| Institutional barriers or harmful response | not reported in available text |
| Moving money for a scheme | reported in available text |
Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.
ActualSpanishoriginalnamesObafemi42/BethPhillips/June2016–March2018/MissouriMinnesotaNewJersey andofficialDOJ24months prison plus3supervised/311520restitution; UPI exactnamedURL+sameage/multistatessentence andKTTN/KY3same3states/300000/source announcement qualify casehypothesis. PreserveSpanish5yearheadline error andownshortunknownfacts; compensationorderednotpaid. Nwadavid2years/2.7m/Boston separate defendant, no commonUSsentence identity.
1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.
A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.
Record: bff6f4d6ca71ae83cc510cb91302cc172d5264c72e24eb23e97e18964d0782c4
Decision: b716c4e075b1c482ad804f29aa392fecd96a0c6dab1cec085af6294798d18b4a
Current revision: f7c1d2f0e29d6c1c2612898aaa3cf45c95c678ffc10cc53cfabf61a86d431286
The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.