Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Ex-council leader who compared himself to Tinder Swindler jailed after romance fraud

www.glasgowtimes.co.ukEnglishObserved 2025-11-19
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

FormerEastDunbartonshireCouncil leader reportedly jailed after romancefraud and a self-comparison toTinderSwindler. Source gives neither amount nor actualterm; comparison is not identitywithSimonLeviev or an additionalfraudcase.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

sentencereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harminsufficient context
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Ex-Tory council leader jailed over £188,000 romance fraud

Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.

Shared wording

Former Scots Tory council leader convicted of £188,000 fraud

Named Andrew Polson and Ann Kelly, property-profit pretext, distinctive former council leader and GBP188,000 conviction reporting connect the older sentence and preserved appeal family. Sparse unnamed council-leader variants are qualified repeated coverage. GBP186,000, GBP188,000 and nearly GBP200,000 partner/charity totals remain attributed. The stated May2021–March2022 period belongs to the offence, not the observation or appeal.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: f883d979e940b31d698769bd5118a03cb603ca058de33b98352376bbb54c394d
Decision: 514f78bd768696ab5ce3a29943034e2f429d29206865ad5bce8f64c8e63e6a07
Current revision: 0c71f005dab92b7b75c7bc52d18876c0a4274586feab2faafb1dbb3847a3739a

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.