Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

ロマンス詐欺疑い、ナイジェリア籍11人逮捕 国際詐欺グループか | 毎日新聞

mainichi.jpJapaneseObserved 2025-02-18
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Japanese/Nigerian police11suspects fromfive-prefecture socialinvestment/Romance investigations. Source-arrests notguilt/convictions, mixedscope/notallinvestmentRomance.2022–23 and150million/56000000crypto onlyfull259; differing20total elsewhere not summed. Nigeriaoperationexplicitmostfullcontexts, nationalityalone insufficient. Own contextual reread supports O:d with source attribution and stated role/scope.

Places in the available evidence

Investigation or court: Japan

Scam operation: Nigeria

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Investigation and operational response

arrestreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
mixed fraud
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
mixed scheme
Causal claim
not established

Technical facilitation

platform communicationreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
mixed fraud
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
mixed scheme
Causal claim
not established

Organization and division of labor

networkallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
mixed fraud
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
mixed scheme
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harminsufficient context
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsinsufficient context
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesinsufficient context
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressinsufficient context
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationreported in available text
Investigation and operational responsereported in available text
Organization and division of laborreported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

投資・ロマンス詐欺で20人摘発 ナイジェリアと日本の共同捜査:朝日新聞

Own NPA/Feb18/11 Nigerian account-suspect/5 prefectures/150mJPY context and actuallyread Asahi fullbody identify qualified shared investigation, including prior Nikkan14target description. Twenty comprises eleven Nigeria recipients plus nine domestic converters; five cases/fourteen targets not contradictory unique-person arithmetic. Mixed romance/investment outcomes, 2022–2023fraud versus2022–2024 domesticarrests and broader OperationJackal retained. Country/nationality not alloperators; no convictions, crypto proceeds not all victim crypto transfers, all Jackal raids not one network.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 1794ad64991635db9de81a1e713f0cf2d428468c8fb96c803cc26e5105772b8b
Decision: 585c118f43198bb3275b06081fd585c3dd9a6425536c36d42070af0014ebd6ae
Current revision: 45546f38d42cb28d774063e1036d972121b25e1941d3973841793665e3be9c30

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.