Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Trial date set for Telford man accused of romance fraud against seven women

www.birminghammail.co.ukEnglishObserved 2026-03-01
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Marc Cole-Jones faces 25 fraud counts concerning seven women, with a trial date set. Scheduled trial is not conviction or a completed hearing.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Relationship-based deception

unspecifiedreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Justice proceedings and outcomes

chargereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Justice proceedings and outcomes

trialreported occurrenceStage: planned
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmnot reported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionreported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Reported follow-up

Man due in court to face £600,000 romance fraud charges

Same explicitly named Marc Cole-Jones:2025charges/planned appearance and2026named scheduled-trial reporting form a qualified direct procedural development. Six/seven targets and25-count scope are not harmonized; no entered guilty plea, completed trial or conviction inferred.

This record is linked back to earlier reporting.

Shared wording

Charges over £590,000 romance fraud allegations

MatchingCheshire/Telford/Shropshire590k22counts/sixwomen/15years, oneexactnamedMarcColeJones2009–2024 and priororiginalCheshire statement support qualified widercoverage. Six/22versus2026seven/25 remainrevisedscope. Ownshortaccusedsource not codedasformalcharge; prior595k variant retains amount difference. No timeline from observationdates.

Shared wording

Man due in court to face £600,000 romance fraud charges

Full named Marc Cole-Jones source links to preserved named25-count/scheduled-trial account. Six versus seven women and600k scope remain source-specific; scheduled court stages do not become conviction. Anonymous595k/635k variants remain possible, not name-resolved from a URL slug.

Shared wording

Businessman in court to face £600k romance fraud charges relating to six women

NamedMarcColeJones/22counts/6women/Warringtonactualappearance andTelford595k variant align with independently read originalCheshire charging statement. Extendprotected later25-count/sevenwoman/scheduledtrial group as qualifiedcontinuation, keeping revisedscope andfuturestages. AnonymousBelizesurgerysource notresolvedbyURLslug. No new direct chronology assignedfromobservation orscheduled datealone.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 1f47c53bfa35b140e63c86b080c82a53887b739699f8b2f2d425c3ea593d85ca
Decision: 7556183f8640f6e864d738ba758b3000c1aae75bebd8606e44cd502ca80b8b21
Current revision: ac62a2c440d491ab36de927a3d058031159bee67f5b623ef9e6c2601517feb1d

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.