Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

US court jails Nigerian man for 15 years over $1.5m romance scam

www.thecable.ngEnglishObserved 2026-03-31
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Saheed Sunday Owolabi reportedly received a 15-year US sentence for fraud and laundering more than $1.5m to Nigeria. Destination of funds is not proof of every offender’s location.

Places in the available evidence

Investigation or court: United States

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Relationship-based deception

unspecifiedreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Moving money for a scheme

launderingallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Justice proceedings and outcomes

sentencereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmnot reported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionreported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemereported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Same reported case

US-based Nigerian jailed 15 years for $1.5m fraud

The name, amount and 15-year sentence connect these reports; a middle-name variation is retained. This is a direct contextual link, not independent proof of identity or a transitive case merge.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 45c19b1287615ce6cb8a6344c0254a7969d4ae9a00516f506a874c7d50188de7
Decision: 1d3a36e587bb1fdabbd910d26925839726aea5a901232249d047350b673f0c8c
Current revision: 37e1c01e691d522f7696b2975ee69aef4a2b1b50abd304fed6d4d069bd8f1062

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.