Financial and property harm
Interpretation details
- Scope
- single case
- Person or institution described
- targeted person
- Link to romance fraud
- explicit
- Causal claim
- not established
Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC
← Back to your resultsReported case
Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.
FormerEastDunbartonshireCouncil leaderAndrewPolson reportedly jailed in GBP 188,000romance fraud after deceiving his expartner over property-investment money. Political/formercharityroles are biography, not proofinstitutionaloffence; exactsentence and refund absent.
No geographic role could be established from the available text.
Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.
These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.
| Theme | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Blame, stigma and responsibility framing | not reported in available text |
| Homicide and lethal violence | not reported in available text |
| Disruption of daily life | not reported in available text |
| Financial and property harm | reported in available text |
| Suicide and self-harm | not reported in available text |
| Family and social harm | not reported in available text |
| Protection or recovery of assets | insufficient context |
| Policy and regulatory response | not reported in available text |
| Justice proceedings and outcomes | reported in available text |
| Coercion and exploitation | not reported in available text |
| Psychological distress | not reported in available text |
| Blackmail and extortion | not reported in available text |
| Help, reporting and prevention | not reported in available text |
| Physical or sexual harm | not reported in available text |
| Investment pretext | reported in available text |
| Technical facilitation | not reported in available text |
| Investigation and operational response | not reported in available text |
| Organization and division of labor | not reported in available text |
| Relationship-based deception | not reported in available text |
| Involvement in other offending | not reported in available text |
| Continued or renewed targeting | not reported in available text |
| Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerability | not reported in available text |
| Institutional barriers or harmful response | not reported in available text |
| Moving money for a scheme | not reported in available text |
Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
Named Andrew Polson and Ann Kelly, property-profit pretext, distinctive former council leader and GBP188,000 conviction reporting connect the older sentence and preserved appeal family. Sparse unnamed council-leader variants are qualified repeated coverage. GBP186,000, GBP188,000 and nearly GBP200,000 partner/charity totals remain attributed. The stated May2021–March2022 period belongs to the offence, not the observation or appeal.
Explicit AndrewPolson/EastDunbartonshire former council-leader/72-year-old partner/property-fraud context supports one qualified proceeding family. Keep GBP186k versus188k versusnear200k combinedcharity/partner totals and22-month term versustruncated22… source-specific. The unnamed EastDunbartonshire/TinderSwindler comparison source is qualified role-matched coverage, not SimonLeviev. Named2026appeal is a reported development of the jailed proceeding, not a new conviction.
1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.
A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.
Record: 49a76ca5f0abe42444f6a5f346ee0c783bc5c12f2f781d5e8f67371611158159
Decision: 4eeed12794019a2e3024674119c873b1afb0c1c49c97532f5593ef461d4bf047
Current revision: fe991c66c7a54844d870d51e7a5ad52883cca330a70b90d769ecb06846848b2b
The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.