Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Suspect appears in court accused of swindling women through £595k romance fraud

www.warringtonguardian.co.ukEnglishObserved 2025-09-24
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Six-target romance-fraudsuspect isreportedbeforecourt, with sourceheadlinesover500k/595k/nearly600k andregionaldescriptors. Retain attributedcourtappearance, charges/loss whereeachsourcegivesit; no guiltyconviction, nametransferredfromanothervariant, exactactdate or normalizedamount. Own title/body explicitly reports alleged monetary fraud. Retain financial claim as allegation, not an adjudicated paidloss or normalized595k/600k/over500k. Courtappearance remains separate.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

court appearancereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responseinsufficient context
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Suspect appears in court accused of swindling women through £595k romance fraud

Six women/people, approximately595k or nearly600k, repeated court appearance and Telford/Lancashire contexts support a qualified shared proceeding news-work hypothesis. Over500k is compatible but less precise. Name not explicit in these metadata; two attempted deeper opens failed and no identity bridge was borrowed from URL slugs. Remains distinct from named Cole-Jones family pending evidence.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 4c1f7228f28fccfabf2de17fb216f0ce9845d5bc83ee73e8cdb32fb227d758b0
Decision: 980f3476c703ed3f15aeed9497d54e4685b28e4642d38489e5b23f15468ba12f
Current revision: b077aa3d673263e8f66c6875a4cc5bc4a11735dc4f2cbf2d7ae0d61638ffd3be

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.