Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Con artists tricked Tennessee retiree, 74, out of $86K in romance scam before he took his own life. What you need to know to protect yourself

www.aol.comEnglishObserved 2025-12-20
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

The headline reports a 74-year-old Tennessee retiree’s $86,000 romance-fraud loss followed by suicide. Temporal sequence does not establish causation. The description reports nearly $390,000 restitution ordered, not paid recovery; facing prison years does not establish a completed sentence. The source associates suicide temporally with fraud; no causal inference is established.

Places in the available evidence

Victim location: United States

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Financial and property harm

cashreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Suicide and self-harm

suicide deathreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
source associated
Causal claim
not established

Protection or recovery of assets

compensation orderreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmreported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsreported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesinsufficient context
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

3 sentenced after Jonesborough man was scammed out of more than $86k, took his own life

Saved named Onwumere/Anagor imprisonment, Jonesborough teacher/suicide/three-defendant sentence and Tennessee74/USD86k reporting receive a qualified identity bridge from the selectively read DOJ statement naming the three defendants and the retired Jonesborough teacher. Official-source receipt is separate; no unseen facts are copied into sparse articles. Preserve reported individual loss versus all-victim restitution and attributed death association. The initial prior checkpoint lacked this identity bridge and remains preserved. This is repeated sentence reporting across windows, not a newly counted victim or a new procedural event from each observation.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 8052af385d3b8008efd7edf7c4b19d9af4fdde5ce30ae64c4551da024685d7db
Decision: 6699a137ccdf603e87c6bf95904f034d8e083fafc98dab448bf2a348336e200e
Current revision: 839ff418c830b2abc67054498eb5169c61413c2b1b8b5d3c46c9ff737bbf41e9

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.