Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Romance scammer sentenced to 7 months in prison, ordered to pay Wichita woman $15,000

www.kwch.comEnglishObserved 2025-09-10
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

How to read this record

Sedgwickjudge reportedlysentencedmansevenmonthsforromancefraudandordered15,000dollarstoWichitawoman. Retain sentence/compensationorderandunspecifiedthousandsreportedloss; orderisnotreturnedfunds orproofexact15,000originalvictimloss. Sentence and restitutionorder are reported, not originalcourt-verified or actualcashreturned. No actdate is inferred from Netflixpremiere, articleURL or observationdate; namedmedia subject requires contextualidentity review.

Places in the available evidence

Investigation or court: United States

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

sentencereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Protection or recovery of assets

compensation orderreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsreported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressinsufficient context
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

No direct connection is recorded. This does not establish that the story is unique.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 8dce28cbccbf0bf21a12ff83669d3f8db71b406ba1cc874db277a87faf80506c
Decision: f7f8ccb07a5c8892c7acd89ed6b2a3378fed52947f55784bb09298fe571f4a85
Current revision: ce34e6071e4514701a4e7f524728f4a245815b527fd78933304c4d459dbef9f6

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.