Financial and property harm
Interpretation details
- Scope
- multiple cases
- Person or institution described
- targeted person
- Link to romance fraud
- explicit
- Causal claim
- not established
Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC
← Back to your resultsReported case
Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.
Taichung first-instance judgment sentenced a woman named Liao to 12 years six months in a TWD170m romance-fraud matter with three American victims. Appeal remains possible; citizenship is not residence.
Investigation or court: Taiwan
Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.
These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.
| Theme | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Blame, stigma and responsibility framing | not reported in available text |
| Homicide and lethal violence | not reported in available text |
| Disruption of daily life | not reported in available text |
| Financial and property harm | reported in available text |
| Suicide and self-harm | not reported in available text |
| Family and social harm | not reported in available text |
| Protection or recovery of assets | not reported in available text |
| Policy and regulatory response | not reported in available text |
| Justice proceedings and outcomes | reported in available text |
| Coercion and exploitation | not reported in available text |
| Psychological distress | not reported in available text |
| Blackmail and extortion | not reported in available text |
| Help, reporting and prevention | not reported in available text |
| Physical or sexual harm | not reported in available text |
| Investment pretext | not reported in available text |
| Technical facilitation | not reported in available text |
| Investigation and operational response | not reported in available text |
| Organization and division of labor | not reported in available text |
| Relationship-based deception | not reported in available text |
| Involvement in other offending | not reported in available text |
| Continued or renewed targeting | not reported in available text |
| Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerability | not reported in available text |
| Institutional barriers or harmful response | not reported in available text |
| Moving money for a scheme | not reported in available text |
Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.
NamedLiao36sameUSthreevictims5328855USD/170520000NTD/pinkwatch sourcecase indictment requesting10yr versus protectedCNAJune3,2026first-instance12yr6mos sentence. Directattributedlegalstage development not inferredchronologyfromobservations/all6guilty/cashreturned ororiginaljudgmentverified.
This record is linked back to earlier reporting.
QualifiedsameLiao36/US-Taiwancase andrarepinkRMwatch: reportedseizure/auction earlierproceeding to protectedCNAJune3,2026first-instance12year6monthsentence expresslyrecallingprior-yeararrest. Directlegalstagechange, notfillingMay14fullauctiondatefromobservation/returnedassetpayments/all6defendantsguilty.1.6/1.7億sourceprecisionretained, originaljudgmentunseen.
This record is linked back to earlier reporting.
Direct exact-normalized desc match. Repeated wording is not independent verification, case identity or measured awareness.
The named 36-year-old Liao, Taiwan/US investigation, NTD170million-scale alleged transfers and return-to-Taiwan custody context support a qualified bridge to preserved Taichung first-instance 12-year-six-month sentencing reports. The distinctive 50million watch and later extension are source-specific. Liao surname alone is insufficient: the Taipei25w prevented withdrawal concerns a different victim. Stolen passports, the deceased passport owner, cash couriers and roles are not one romantic target or an inferred causal homicide.
1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.
A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.
Record: 8ef73f4d6a85678bf65b9968e13ec170e7b3324ab7646eb5747c7ee3e07d2ff9
Decision: 74227489501907b71e26f287ffa1b886a6249bc04e67e161ae0e6f8e6ad1553e
Current revision: 193eb843f14954c4e0cd6d725d7a4b38e4851a078d058b5791525912d9e9f525
The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.