Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Former Scottish Tory council leader convicted of £188,000 fraud

www.thenational.scotEnglishObserved 2025-10-22
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Former Scottish council leader who compared himself with the TinderSwindler was convicted in GBP188,000romance fraud. Keep amount/conviction, not a named identity, actual jail sentence or a link to SimonLeviev merely through nickname.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Justice proceedings and outcomes

convictionreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsnot reported in available text
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Former Scots Tory council leader convicted of £188,000 fraud

Named Andrew Polson and Ann Kelly, property-profit pretext, distinctive former council leader and GBP188,000 conviction reporting connect the older sentence and preserved appeal family. Sparse unnamed council-leader variants are qualified repeated coverage. GBP186,000, GBP188,000 and nearly GBP200,000 partner/charity totals remain attributed. The stated May2021–March2022 period belongs to the offence, not the observation or appeal.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 94cd230f2bd687682d4728cef24be1264f78dc679904a76844121d06fea3cd62
Decision: 82fe956376d8d2045fd9875362059015fb6cba56fc8fa92fbc26cb2139d732b5
Current revision: ce593559646533fa9e6642f23ef7f4b5cac57b6da6e2dafbf6ee3977bfbca2ed

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.