Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Shropshire man accused of £590,000 'romance frauds' spanning 15 years

www.shropshirestar.comEnglishObserved 2025-08-12
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Telford/Shropshire52-year-oldromancefraudreports590k/22charges/sixpeople/15years, namedMarcColeJonesinthefullersource. Preserve own allegations/countscope; source121explicit2009–2024yearsnotcurrent2025incident. Sameprecisecourtcontextneedsqualifiedstorycomparison; no automaticnamefromURLslug, conviction or fundsreturned. Own accused/swinding wording does not explicitly establish formal criminal charging; fuller ColeJones sources cannot fill this shorter source.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsinsufficient context
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesinsufficient context
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Charges over £590,000 romance fraud allegations

MatchingCheshire/Telford/Shropshire590k22counts/sixwomen/15years, oneexactnamedMarcColeJones2009–2024 and priororiginalCheshire statement support qualified widercoverage. Six/22versus2026seven/25 remainrevisedscope. Ownshortaccusedsource not codedasformalcharge; prior595k variant retains amount difference. No timeline from observationdates.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: ab771b8c8a2029eb2e1ca0e2f0fb9596a29ffd461decf9824d7c92446ebf6dfd
Decision: 6aa738540cca37ae4ada033c261180292695992e8fc470cf4f6488b4dc9d42d4
Current revision: ec4b48c0e2e9ffe947da386af0459e77a89cef8483e23d489287c65f2c1044b7

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.