Investigation and operational response
Interpretation details
- Scope
- mixed fraud
- Person or institution described
- authority
- Link to romance fraud
- mixed scheme
- Causal claim
- not established
Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC
← Back to your resultsReported case
Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.
Japanese/Nigerian police11suspects fromfive-prefecture socialinvestment/Romance investigations. Source-arrests notguilt/convictions, mixedscope/notallinvestmentRomance.2022–23 and150million/56000000crypto onlyfull259; differing20total elsewhere not summed. Nigeriaoperationexplicitmostfullcontexts, nationalityalone insufficient.
No geographic role could be established from the available text.
Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.
These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.
| Theme | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Blame, stigma and responsibility framing | not reported in available text |
| Homicide and lethal violence | not reported in available text |
| Disruption of daily life | not reported in available text |
| Financial and property harm | insufficient context |
| Suicide and self-harm | not reported in available text |
| Family and social harm | not reported in available text |
| Protection or recovery of assets | insufficient context |
| Policy and regulatory response | not reported in available text |
| Justice proceedings and outcomes | insufficient context |
| Coercion and exploitation | not reported in available text |
| Psychological distress | insufficient context |
| Blackmail and extortion | not reported in available text |
| Help, reporting and prevention | not reported in available text |
| Physical or sexual harm | not reported in available text |
| Investment pretext | not reported in available text |
| Technical facilitation | reported in available text |
| Investigation and operational response | reported in available text |
| Organization and division of labor | not reported in available text |
| Relationship-based deception | not reported in available text |
| Involvement in other offending | not reported in available text |
| Continued or renewed targeting | not reported in available text |
| Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerability | not reported in available text |
| Institutional barriers or harmful response | not reported in available text |
| Moving money for a scheme | not reported in available text |
Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.
Own NPA/Feb18/11 Nigerian account-suspect/5 prefectures/150mJPY context and actuallyread Asahi fullbody identify qualified shared investigation, including prior Nikkan14target description. Twenty comprises eleven Nigeria recipients plus nine domestic converters; five cases/fourteen targets not contradictory unique-person arithmetic. Mixed romance/investment outcomes, 2022–2023fraud versus2022–2024 domesticarrests and broader OperationJackal retained. Country/nationality not alloperators; no convictions, crypto proceeds not all victim crypto transfers, all Jackal raids not one network.
1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.
A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.
Record: e24515a44e6e5e5030f34750310c9c032bff749929426f07e90de77fb9ce9d3b
Decision: 8ec611b8620388bdb4c81b228a0ca05a073f7dd6503f509de8cd1cc651014ae7
Current revision: 168a657104ed58795375583ff37576e1193f67d6628eb318be78b436a2c2e4e3
The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.