Relationship-based deception
Interpretation details
- Scope
- single case
- Person or institution described
- alleged offender
- Link to romance fraud
- explicit
- Causal claim
- not established
Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC
← Back to your resultsReported case
Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.
Leslie Mba reportedly received 19 years, also expressed as 228 months, in a $4m romance-fraud case. These descriptions should not be added as separate losses.
No geographic role could be established from the available text.
Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.
These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.
| Theme | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Blame, stigma and responsibility framing | not reported in available text |
| Homicide and lethal violence | not reported in available text |
| Disruption of daily life | not reported in available text |
| Financial and property harm | reported in available text |
| Suicide and self-harm | not reported in available text |
| Family and social harm | not reported in available text |
| Protection or recovery of assets | not reported in available text |
| Policy and regulatory response | not reported in available text |
| Justice proceedings and outcomes | reported in available text |
| Coercion and exploitation | not reported in available text |
| Psychological distress | not reported in available text |
| Blackmail and extortion | not reported in available text |
| Help, reporting and prevention | not reported in available text |
| Physical or sexual harm | not reported in available text |
| Investment pretext | not reported in available text |
| Technical facilitation | not reported in available text |
| Investigation and operational response | not reported in available text |
| Organization and division of labor | not reported in available text |
| Relationship-based deception | reported in available text |
| Involvement in other offending | not reported in available text |
| Continued or renewed targeting | not reported in available text |
| Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerability | not reported in available text |
| Institutional barriers or harmful response | not reported in available text |
| Moving money for a scheme | not reported in available text |
Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.
Both identify Mba and the same sentence, not separate losses. Direct association only; not independent verification or a transitive case merge.
Both identify Mba and the 19-year sentence; the longer account identifies mixed fraud. Direct association only; not independent verification or a transitive case merge.
Both identify Mba and the equivalent 19-year/228-month sentence. Direct association only; not independent verification or a transitive case merge.
1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.
A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.
Record: 3fad715b4b5b908ca18b78b0b0cc1ea6ad816fb96e5ca68b0bd82132ecd2c144
Decision: e1378504ffa56ff29143f45f44f86a030ec4771a737b2f41c48d20f8639d70b3
Current revision: 5f49e426979d9667b4327e5d2faf641a8ec177e1533f6bcc61bc8506ce1dea4b
The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.