Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Telford man accused of £595k romance fraud and scamming six women over 15 years

www.shropshirestar.comEnglishObserved 2025-08-18
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

NamedMarcColeJones versus anonymousTelford reports22fraudcounts/sixwomen/GBP595000 rounded600k and actualmagistratesappearance. Preserve allegations and exact/roundedquantities; sixwomen not22victims, appearance nottrialconviction. OtherBelizesurgerycase short source mayconnectbutnamebridge needed; August18withoutyearnotstructured incidentdate.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

court appearancereported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsinsufficient context
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionnot reported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Charges over £590,000 romance fraud allegations

MatchingCheshire/Telford/Shropshire590k22counts/sixwomen/15years, oneexactnamedMarcColeJones2009–2024 and priororiginalCheshire statement support qualified widercoverage. Six/22versus2026seven/25 remainrevisedscope. Ownshortaccusedsource not codedasformalcharge; prior595k variant retains amount difference. No timeline from observationdates.

Shared wording

Businessman in court to face £600k romance fraud charges relating to six women

NamedMarcColeJones/22counts/6women/Warringtonactualappearance andTelford595k variant align with independently read originalCheshire charging statement. Extendprotected later25-count/sevenwoman/scheduledtrial group as qualifiedcontinuation, keeping revisedscope andfuturestages. AnonymousBelizesurgerysource notresolvedbyURLslug. No new direct chronology assignedfromobservation orscheduled datealone.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 63ebb0212a26fbd0c560a06dfbbfcca90c623efc4094e0c9a9fb95325b1907ef
Decision: 71e235b86bd2462f27336645b395e2cbf3187fc0ca69e89896a59b4b14c35980
Current revision: 8ef916fd878f08acc70f0d9775ffef644d3be656456d969289c9b5281c585e93

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.