Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Reported case

Nigerian pleads guilty to $405,000 US romance scam

punchng.comEnglishObserved 2025-08-30
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Own source reports a Nigerian's guilty plea in an American romance-fraud matter; fuller variants name DanielChimaInweregbu40, overUSD405,000, fabricated persona, conspiracy and laundering, while short titles round400,000 or omit identity. Retain own plea/financial detail only; a possible20year maximum is not imposed sentence. No missing exact dates/persona/name from another source.

Places in the available evidence

No geographic role could be established from the available text.

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Justice proceedings and outcomes

pleareported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
authority
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Relationship-based deception

impersonationreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Moving money for a scheme

launderingallegationStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
single case
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsinsufficient context
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesreported in available text
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationnot reported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionreported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemereported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Shared wording

Nigerian Man Pleads Guilty In US To $405,000 Romance Scam Against American Women

Exact named Inweregbu and USD405,000 plea context, including anonymous exact-amount/procedural headlines, support qualified case family against named later sentence. Original EDLA releases supply separate bridge. USD405,000 is actual plus intended loss, not net completed loss; imposed33months differs from maximum20years, restitution166400 is ordered not recovered. Shorter sources retain omissions; Boadu is a different Daniel/case.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: 9f5b06b7ecb67200b1e9c9cf7159f005d84e27f089a2c9a236b8bf6e44a32e99
Decision: fcd9717ba7cd905de5c472d1d28c5f7927de01df96348fac16064217d8fc6c3c
Current revision: 0c8e5150ab81c4134ee36bed9076d0111dcea1d38539e61f579ebaf87ca59800

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.