Skip to main content

Data from The GDELT Project · Reviewed and interpreted by RSRC

← Back to your results

Research & trends

Over €8 million lost by Irish victims to romance fraud since 2019, Crimecall reveals

www.offalyexpress.ieEnglishObserved 2025-04-29
Included for relevance; source claims are not independently verified. This record is based on saved titles and descriptions unless a separate deeper-reading assessment is explicitly shown. Observation dates are not incident dates. An arrest or charge is not a conviction.

Story groups for this report

Contextual research groupings, not verified case membership.

How to read this record

Ireland8millionEURRomancefraudlost since2019 Crimecallcoverage with falseonlineprofiles/pretendedromanticinterest definition. Cumulative startyear not one2025annualrate, programme copies not uniquevictims.

Places in the available evidence

Victim location: Ireland

Unlisted locations remain unknown. Nationality, language and web address alone do not establish where a scam happened.

Themes reported in the text

These labels describe the available reporting. “Not reported” does not mean a harm did not happen. A theme's stage applies to that statement, not every claim in the article.

Financial and property harm

unspecifiedreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
targeted person
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Relationship-based deception

impersonationreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Relationship-based deception

fabricated relationshipreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established

Technical facilitation

platform communicationreported occurrenceStage: completed
Interpretation details
Scope
multiple cases
Person or institution described
alleged offender
Link to romance fraud
explicit
Causal claim
not established
All 24 assessed themes
ThemeAssessment
Blame, stigma and responsibility framingnot reported in available text
Homicide and lethal violencenot reported in available text
Disruption of daily lifenot reported in available text
Financial and property harmreported in available text
Suicide and self-harmnot reported in available text
Family and social harmnot reported in available text
Protection or recovery of assetsinsufficient context
Policy and regulatory responsenot reported in available text
Justice proceedings and outcomesinsufficient context
Coercion and exploitationnot reported in available text
Psychological distressnot reported in available text
Blackmail and extortionnot reported in available text
Help, reporting and preventionnot reported in available text
Physical or sexual harmnot reported in available text
Investment pretextnot reported in available text
Technical facilitationreported in available text
Investigation and operational responsenot reported in available text
Organization and division of labornot reported in available text
Relationship-based deceptionreported in available text
Involvement in other offendingnot reported in available text
Continued or renewed targetingnot reported in available text
Prior circumstances and claimed vulnerabilitynot reported in available text
Institutional barriers or harmful responsenot reported in available text
Moving money for a schemenot reported in available text

Connected reporting

Only direct reviewed connections are shown. Shared wording is weaker evidence than a supported case connection. A connection through a third article does not establish that two reports concern the same case.

Research provenance

1 saved revision. Corrections preserve earlier versions.

A page can change after it first appears. Observation dates record when its URL was seen; they do not prove that the wording assessed here was present on every date.

Record: e1318d303ad272d0bca3f2afc5b8b1c101c2c47270ab286b06b73d5b587bd0cf
Decision: 5c8b6c5cb72a7036488f05901c1deab3756e56f8afac3627934a6b39d7f864ce
Current revision: ea8235a9227cb1dcc39f00428c532e8b0be44fa20eebfedd10eeb1d42975ca3f

The local research archive retains source hashes, quoted evidence and review records. This collection does not redistribute full publisher articles.